How to sew: tutu onesie

My latest quicky project was to put a tutu on this very cute “queen of the crib” onesie that aunt Kristie found for Klairah.

how to sew: tutu onesie

How to sew: tutu onesie, how to make a tutu onesie

How to sew: tutu onesie

How to sew: tutu onesie

I cut the tulle 6x’s the length of the onesie.

how to sew: tutu onesie

how to sew: tutu onesie

Then I ran a gather stitch length wise down the center, then I gathered it.

How to sew: tutu onesie

How to sew: tutu onesie

I folded the ruffle in half so the thread from the gather was at the top, then I pinned in place.

how to sew: tutu onesie

how to sew: tutu onesie

how to sew: tutu onesie

how to sew: tutu onesie

Sew to onesie.

I then cut another strip of tulle 6x’s the length of onesie, ran a gathered stitch, gathered, then pinned the second piece an inch above the first ruffle.

Instead of folding the second ruffle in half I laid it flat and following the gather stitch I sewed it to the onesie.

how to sew: tutu onesie

how to sew: tutu onesie

I then scrunched the tulle with my hands to give it a nice full look.

how to sew: tutu onesie

how to sew: tutu onesie

Tada! Now I just can’t wait for my lil princess to wake up so we can see how puffy her tushy will be!

This entry was posted in children's clothing, sewing, tutorial and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How to sew: tutu onesie

  1. Mamaw Donna says:

    You are so full of wonderful ideas. I can just see her little tushy in this!!

  2. mamaw says:

    Love it! Can’t wait to see how cute she will look in it!

Leave a Reply

