Ruffled valance for the baby nook

Today I thought I would get started on the decorating part of the baby nook, I don’t have everything I need for it yet but it will come piece by piece…

I started with the window covering. I had this material on hand from making Klairahs cradle bedding, I will give you a step by step process… Here goes

The window measured 41″ from trim to trim lengthwise. I cut, well ripped (because I love the frayed look) strips of fabric that measured 65″ in length. (i didn’t have prices 65″ long so I stitched 2 pieces together that measured that length) and 6″ in width. I also cut pieces at 45″Ā length but only 4″ wide.

The 6″ pieces are for the ruffle, the 4″ pieces are to connect each ruffle (these pieces don’t have to match your ruffle but I wanted to match so I didn’t have anything stand out.

I only wanted 3 ruffles so I needed 3 6″ pieces & 3 4″ pieces.

image

Sew a 1/4″ hem on each end of the ruffle pieces, (i didn’t hem my pieces but wish I would have) now run a gather stitch the length of the piece about 1/4″ from edge, I set my machine on 3. Then gather. Do this to each ruffle piece

image

image

I then cut the top piece at 45″ long, and 12″ wide. This piece will be folded over to hang on your curtain rod. Hem both ends of this piece about 1″

image

image

Now lay the ruffle on top of the connecting piece with both pieces face up. You may have to gather the ruffle some more or let out some ruffle but both pieces need to line up in length.

image

Lay the folded top piece on top of the ruffle with the fold at the bottom of the ruffle, and the bare edges at the top.

image

image

image

Pin in place, then stitch about 1/2″ from the edge.

image

Now lay flat and lift up the top piece.

image

Lift the ruffle up exposing the connector piece

image

Follow the same steps as above.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

And again…

image

image

image

image

On the last connector piece I hemmed a 1/4″ hem.

Iron flat…

And here is the finished product!

image

image

image

This entry was posted in Home decorating, nursery, sewing, tutorial and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ruffled valance for the baby nook

  1. Mom says:

    Absolutely the cutest! Great job! Love it. ~ Mom

  2. mamaw says:

    Love it! Nice job!

Leave a Reply

